LATEST POSTS

Under stARTers orders, a unique public arts project

Under stARTers orders, a unique public arts project

29th Apr 2019

Under stARTers orders, a unique public arts project has enlisted no less than 21 of Ireland’s finest artists to paint their own take on life-size fibre reisen horse sculptures. Each creation is for sale with all proceeds going to Kildare based charities Irish Injured Jockeys and Sensational Kids. The works will be on public display at various locations around Kildare and Meath over the coming weeks. Exhibition spaces include; The Punchestown Festival, Kildare Village, Whitewater Shopping Centre, The Irish National Stud, Horse Racing Ireland in County Kildare as well as Solstice Arts Centre in County Meath.

 

Following the recent unveiling of all 21 creations at Naas Racecourse, the horses have been dispersed to numerous viewing locations where the public are invited to get up-close and personal with these amazing pieces before they are claimed by their new owners.

 

The concept for the entire project was inspired by the New Curragh Development which will be opening shortly. Organisers wanted to mark this significant transformation at the heart of the thoroughbred county in a creative way. Under stARTers orders has brought incredible works of art to the attention of the public by cleverly displaying the project at key locations. Furthermore, organisers have turned the project into a superb fundraising initiative in aid of two most deserving local charities, Irish Injured Jockeys and Sensational Kids.

 

A guide price of €10,000 has been placed on each horse. 15 of the horses will be pre-sold over the coming weeks through expressions of interest and an online auction, interested parties can find more information at www.startersorders.ie. 6 other horses will be sold at a live auction at The Curragh Racecourse on Friday, 28th of June as part of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby Festival.

 

Both Misneach by Sara Hodson and Minoru by Liza Kavanagh are on display at the Irish National Stud for everyone to view and admire. For a full list of artists see below. 

 

 

 

 

Artists taking part in the under stARTers orders initiative:
1 Dream it, Do it John Fitzgerald www.johnfitzgeraldart.ie
2 Whispered Courage Sarah Lennon www.sarahlennonart.com
3 Flying Colours Lia Laimbock www.lialaimbock.com
4 Mother Michelle Mc Bride  
5 Misneach Sara Hodson  
6 Bloodlines Martin Gale   http://www.martingale.ie/
7 Cure Rosie McGurran  
8 The Banker Marina Hamilton http://www.marinahamilton.net/
9 Duality Tony O’Connor   http://www.whitetreestudio.ie/
10 Horsepower Paul Woods    http://www.paulwoodsart.com
11 The Spirit of Life Lynn Kirkham   http://www.lynnkirkham.net/
12 Trojan Horse – Call me Hope! Katy Palmieri-Seddiq  
13 Minoru Liza Kavanagh   
14 Skyhorse Amelia Peart    http://www.ameliapeart.com/
15 Brexit – Hello or Goodbye? Micasso  
16 Spiorad na Machairí Grainne Dowling    
17 Geronimo Eamon Colman http://www.eamoncolman.com/
18 Winifred Elizabeth Cope http://elizabethcope.com/
19 Sally – Fire in her belly! Liam O’Neill http://www.liamoneillart.com/
20 Curragh of Kildare Gay Brabazon  
21 Sheba The Edge in collaboration Duda  http://www.duda.ie/

 

 

For further information

Carey-Ann Lordan, Red PR

T: 052-6184343                      M: 087-9270730                     E: clordan@redpr.ie     

Dave Southern, Project Manager

M: 087-6727911         E: dave@startersorders.ie

Please note: A selection of artists are available for interview on request – contact Carey-Ann to arrange same.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

CONTACT US